3 months and counting. The joys of pleurisy.

My fun with pleurisy is not yet over it would seem. I was recovering quite happily and I think I may have over-exerted myself over the last week or so, and the pains feel as bad as they did 6 weeks ago.

It is really really boring. I’m not suffering from the acute form anymore (ie “not the super painful I’m being stabbed in the chest everytime i breathe” form), it is really just annoying, it can be quite painful if I do the wrong thing (move suddenly, twisting etc) but more or less it feels like a stitch. There is some tightness in my chest, and I’m not sure if that is anxiety or my lungs.

I found this Pleurisy Forum, which looks useful, so may hang out there for the next 3 years or so. Phah.

It’s almost fun there because you hear of cases so much worse than your own, that you start thinking maybe you are ok.

For example:

My mother has had pleurisy for 16 weeks now. Along with the severe pain she also feels very ill and I am becoming increasingly concerned. She has had about 10 lots of antibiotics and a chest xray.

(from http://experience.patient.co.uk/discussion.php?t=20516)

Admittedly I’m going on to three months now, which is almost 16 weeks, but at least I haven’t had that many anti-biotics.

I’ld also thought I’ld some of these alternative treatments. Anyone who knows me, knows that I am seriously against hippy shit like this, but doing something has got to be better than doing nothing. Maybe.

Leave a Reply

